top of page
Search

Dazed and Confused with Sophia Carrasco of Lady Luck Media


I’ve always been a very creative and artistic person, but I didn’t fall in love with photography until I started developing my own film in the darkroom! I’ve always been heavily inspired by the lifestyle of the 60s and 70s. Music and fashion have played a huge role in my work! As a kid I grew up listening to Led Zeppelin, Cream, the Stones... you name it! Even AC/DC when my mother would drop us off at our little private Catholic school! Shooting film photography allowed me to start working my way into that vintage style I've always admired. I would spend hours in the darkroom perfecting prints because I just couldn’t get enough, which later inspired me to start shooting digital. Just capturing those images and seeing the work I create brings me so much joy, I don’t know where I’d be today without my camera!





Was there a specific moment you realized this style was for you? When was it, where were you? Was it because of a certain picture, movie, song, or outfit? I just want to know if you can pinpoint the specific "this is it" moment.

As I've grown up I've always admired the lifestyle and fashion of the 70s, but it wasn’t until I saw the movie Dazed and Confused for the very first time where I thought to myself, “Wow, if I could live in any era of time, this is it.” I instantly fell in love!


How was going to a private Catholic school for your creative sense of self? Did it help it, or stifle it? I also want to know more about those morning drives to school with your Mom. Is there a drive in specific that you remember loving or hating or cherishing for any reason or another?


Growing up I was definitely a shy kid, and attending a private Catholic school was honestly pretty tough! My school was very strict, no makeup, nail polish, rings, necklaces... not even colored socks! Even though art was always my favorite class, growing up in a strict learning environment held me from exploring and expanding my creative sense of self!


Those morning drives with my mom were my favorite! I remember one morning we were listening to Highway to Hell by AC/DC and my mom laughed and said, “Don’t tell your teachers you listen to this!” as we’re on our way to our little private school. Listening to rock as a kid always made me feel like I could rule the world. I’ll forever cherish that memory.


One quick look at your work and I see a lot of the same subject matter!


This lovely little lady is Morgan, she’s one of my closest friends! She’s a closet queen and she styles my models. When I started my first film photography class in the darkroom, I mainly used Morgan as my model because she was so stylish and photogenic. Her style is heavily inspired by the 60s and 70s as well! We work together and it just so happens we’re such great friends, which makes shoots so fun!


 

Keep up with everything Lady Luck Media here. Sophia's photography is featured in our first print issue. Pre-order coming soon!


Interview by: Micaela Merryman

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page